I would like to acknowledge the Palawa people as the traditional and ongoing custodians of the land where this work was filmed.


~ two-channel video projection with sound depicting a twelve-minute journey through four large-scale distorted natural landscapes~

TRAVERSE 2021 3.jpg

Location: Caboolture Regional Art Gallery

~artist statement~

TRAVERSE (2019) visually embodies a romantic depiction of natural landscapes however with the underlying menacing sounds and growing warps it is a journey that gets under your skin. The more you sit with the large-scale projections you become mesmerised by the visual and aural experience, which creates a meditative space for existential contemplation and broader metaphysical experiences. 

The projected imagery depicts my own subjective experience of the diverse alpine environment in the Leeawuleena (Lake St Clair) National Park where I spent three weeks undertaking an artist residency during Winter in 2019. Accompanying the imagery are sounds of low organs and ethereal drones with subtleties of a violin and onsite recordings from the environment, which have been made in collaboration with emerging musician/sister/best friend, Claire Litwinowicz.


Distant sounds of two supermassive black holes colliding echoes between the transitions of snow and forest environments nodding towards the idea of a Multiverse. The imagery of distorted and mirrored environments where snow falls upwards instead of downwards plays on the question of 'what could this look like in an alternate reality', which is also reflective of my dream experiences where my surrounding environments are completely distorted. 

As a whole, over the duration of the video, the sounds grow, and the taunting slow warps and pulses of the landscapes become more evident, which leads into a climax of nothingness and comes down peacefully; partly a reflection of my ambivalent feelings towards my existence. 

TRAVERSE 4.2.jpg

Location: Outer Space ARI

~production stills~

TRAVERSE 1.2.jpg

~feel free to go outside and listen to the sounds made for TRAVERSE on its own and see what comes~